TheRadioBoard

Forum for the homemade radio builder. Newbies and Experts and everyone else are welcome here!
It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:15 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 2:08 pm 

I'm interested in building a frequency counter circuit that allows me to remember a particular frequency and to indicate how much the oscillator has drifted from that frequency, for a sort of manual huff-and-puff approach. I imagine operation would be something like: tune oscillator to desired frequency and press the "memory" key. After that, the counter remembers the current frequency and changes to display +0 Hz. If the oscillator drifts up 100 Hz, the display would show +100 Hz, to allow the operator to manually pull it back down to +0 Hz.

I've seen some PIC frequency counter circuits and program code that maybe could be modified, but I have no experience with PIC programming or circuits, so I don't know what to look for in such circuits. Does anyone have a suggestion for an applicable and easy circuit (PIC-based or otherwise) that could be made to work as described above?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:37 pm 

As someone who grew programming in asm on the glorious Motorola 68K, I find PIC asm plain terrible to learn and use.
I believe the frequency counter below is one of the few written in C and still capable of measuring frequencies up to some megahertz.
http://www.enide.net/webcms/index.php?p ... freq-meter
That code should be easy to modify in order to get the functions you need.

All other PIC based freq counters I could find so far are either slow (hundreds of KHz max) or asm coded and hard to modify.
A different approach to ease programming on the uC side would imply some fast external counter or programmable logic chip that leaves the critical work out of the uC. So far I could not find anything that does the job of a chain of 74xxx counters in a single chip i2c addressable counter, and sadly know nothing about programmable logic.